A New Angel

        Image

“Death leaves a heartache no one can heal, love leaves a memory no one can steal.”

When you lose someone you love, you gain an Angel. Tuesday January 7th, 2014 was that day.

Shelberg aka Shelly was like my 2nd mother that could actually cook. My brother and I grew up next door torturing her and Jay (her husband) and driving them crazy, along with her 2 children Cori and Jayson. From Winston Day Camp,holiday gatherings, to birthday bashes and weddings.. Both families were always together. We became family. I’ve heard before, “The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each others life.” And that’s exactly what we did, we brought joy and happiness in each others lives, and have continued to do so throughout the years.

Shelly was one of the most caring, strong and loving people I have ever known and an amazing, crazy mother and wife. She was always making sure everything was ok, and putting others before herself. If you put her in a kitchen, she’d stay there for days cooking, and baking. Always making us fresh bread, homemade ice cream, and m&m pancakes. “ALICE! We gotta fatten you up!” she would say while putting more food in front of me. So many amazing memories I will always remember and smile about.

Last year while competing, Shelly would call my mom and say “Chrissy, what the hell is wrong with Allie, what is she eating? You see her muscles? Shes too skinny, she is crazy!” There was not one thing Shelly wouldn’t say. If its on her mind or bothering her, you will certainly know about it! And that’s one of the many reasons why I loved her. She pushed through every single day, with out a care in the world and holding her head up high. Nothing could stop her. She was the true definition of strength, and I hope to be as strong as her one day.

As I prepare myself for my up coming competition, I have in mind that I’m not only doing this for myself, but I’m doing this for her too. Although she thought I was crazy with bodybuilding, she was also proud and inspired. Now she is the one I’m inspired by, and I wont let anything stop me. She was so worried about me having cancer, and just wanted me to get better. And thats exactly what I intend to do. I am going to fight through my treatments and come out on top because I know that would make her so happy and proud.

Shelly will always and forever be in our hearts. She was not only my 2nd mother, she was family, and a friend. We all now have another Angel watching over us, and Heaven has one hell of a chef.

The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life.
Read more at http://www.notable-quotes.com/f/family_quotes.html#0H5DPTJjMW9fStwF.99
The bond that links your true family is not one of blood, but of respect and joy in each other’s life.
Read more at http://www.notable-quotes.com/f/family_quotes.html#0H5DPTJjMW9fStwF.99She was one of the most caring, loving, strongest woman I have ever met. Always making sure everyone was ok, and putting others before herself.
4 thoughts on “A New Angel

  1. Allie, that is a beautiful testimonial to Shelly. I’m so very sad to hear of her passing. My heartfelt condolences to her family and you, Mom, Dad and Matt. Love, “Aunt” Sue and “Uncle” Steve

  2. Hi Allie, it sounds to me that you are one special young lady yourself. I know your parents but you don’t know me. That was so beautiful and heart felt it made me cry. Weren’t we all so lucky to have known Shelly so that we will be forever inspired by the woman that she was! Thank you for your beautiful words. MaryEllen DePace Lang

  3. Allie,you don’t know me, but I know your Mom and Dad. That was the most incredible tribute you wrote for Shelly. I got goose bumps and teary eyed reading it. You are right Shelly was an amazing person and you sound as though you are equally amazing. I’m sure she is smiling down on you and making M&M pancakes for all in your honor. Keep up the fight….with your strength you’ll have no problem. Debby Florence

  4. Thank you for sharing this. Shelly was a unique, honest person & she will be missed for so many reasons by so many people. Well said, Allie!

Leave a Reply

