Laugh, Think, Cry

                                                          IMG_2912

“If you laugh, you think, and you cry, that’s a full day. That’s a heck of a day. You do that seven days a week, you’re going to have something special.” –Jim Valvano

I was having a bad day, when one of my best friends sent me Jim Valvano’s speech. One of the greatest and inspiring speeches of all time. If you haven’t seen it, you MUST watch it. And if you don’t tear up while watching it.. You have no heart, lol

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HuoVM9nm42E

In his speech, he also says “Cancer can take away all of my physical abilities. It cannot touch my mind, it cannot touch my heart, and it cannot touch my soul.” 

I dont believe in god, but I do believe everything happens for a reason. Although, I still haven’t found out what the reason is yet.. Im dealing with it the best I can. Im ready for whatever comes my way. Chemo, radiation, more surgeries.. Im ready. I can’t and wont let this bring me down more than it already has.

It’s crazy how it takes certain situations in life for you to realize how much you really take life for granted. I look at things differently, I view life differently. I forgive quickly, and love more. The little things that used to matter, don’t seem to matter anymore. I used to care what people thought about me. Now, you don’t like me, you’re mad at me? Good, fuck you. I have other things to worry about.

Through this process so far, I’ve realized who my true friends are. People I haven’t even known for a long period of time, have been there for me than friends I’ve had for a long time. Justin, my husband. What a roller coaster it has been. But he has stood by me on my best of days, and my worst days. In 2010 we said our vows “I take you, to have and to hold, from this day forward.. For better, for worse, for richer, for poorer, in sickness and in health, till death do us part.” Who would have thought that our vows would actually play out like this. If anything, this has brought us closer together.

Friday the 13th was hopefully my last surgery. The cancer I have is hormone sensitive and is growing like tree branches, so its hard to get all out. Since it was my 3rd surgery, there is so much scar tissue that it’s also hard to see it all. None of this was what I was expecting, and its going to be a very long road. But like the inspiring Jim Valvano says “Dont give up- Dont ever  give up.” Which I dont plan on doing, and I plan on fighting till the end and kicking cancers ass!

3 thoughts on “Laugh, Think, Cry

  1. Hey Allie I have been trying to figure out the right way to reach out to you and I saw that you are blogging and I started to read them. You are a very inspiring and strong person. I remember growing up in the same neighborhood together and I feel like we grew up together in a way. I was so saddened to hear of this terrible diagnosis but I’m inspired by how gracefully you are fighting this terrible disease. I pray that you have a full recovery and a healthy and long life. I look forward to reading more of your blogs and hearing about your journey.
    Love and strength,
    Lindsay

  2. Best of luck to you. I hope your surgery went well and they were able to get all the cancer. I’m now following your blog and rooting for you! Positive vibes a plenty coming your way.

  3. Like I said before boo….Your soul burns to bright always to ever be beaten by cancer!!!!! You will shine through to the very end and shine even brighter….IF that’s even possible!!! Love you booooooo to the moon and back! XO

Leave a comment